Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Surgery day and… April 15, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — woocrew @ 8:47 pm

…all is good!  We set off this morning at 6 a.m. to get to the surgery center by 6:45 a.m.  We made it in time and the kids were in for surgery shortly after.  It was very early for all of us being that we’d spent the night prior staying up a little late and playing.  When Aunt Heidi came for X’s baptism she brought each of the kids a handmade quilt and it couldn’t have come at a better time being that the kids were able to take them into surgery with them.  They both had their blood pressure and heart rate checked, all of the standard things.  C was the first to swallow the “giggle juice” and the nurse carried her back where she got to wear a mask that made her sleepy.  The surgery took about 45 minutes.  The dr. informed us that he aligned 3 muscles, after the first two were initially done one of her eyes was pointing down so another muscle had to be taken care of.  X was next in after swallowing his juice and he was done in about the same amount of time.  Once he went back Germaine and I were able to sit with C in the recovery room.  She wouldn’t wake up at all, in fact she snored the entire time we were there and didn’t open her eyes until she heard her brother come out.  X came out hollering.  No, really, we could hear him coming down the hall.  He was in hysterics coming out of the anesthesia and cried and cried.  He is very anxious anyway, this exacerbated his anxiety.  I held tight to him and he kept saying he didn’t want to have surgery and he wanted mama.  Once he realized that mama was the one holding him he was able to calm down and fall asleep in my arms…all while still laying in the stretcher of course.  They have both worn sunglasses for a good part of the day, just to keep the bright factor down.  Neither of their eyes are totally bloodshot, which I expected would happen and am glad hasn’t.  We got home after a short stop at the store where dad purchased the necessary things to keep them comfy.  They slept most of the day, both waking around 2 p.m.  They are in good spirits and feeling well.  Admittedly we are keeping them dosed up with tylenol and motrin so that they are comfortable.  No reason for them to feel any unnecessary pain.  M and I went with Granny last night to Abuela’s house.  They all spent the night and came home this afternoon.  We were so grateful to not have to worry with the little girls today and glad they were with people who love and care for them so well. 

Thanks to everyone for their well wishes and prayers.  We certainly feel your love at times like these. 

Next up…Baby I will be having surgery to get tubes in her ears the 30th of this month.  If anyone would like to make donations to the Woocrew pediatric surgery fund please let us know…we accept paypal!!! 😉  Our love to all!!!

 

2 Responses to “Surgery day and…”

  1. Heidi Says:

    You were all in my thoughts and prayers yesterday. All day at work I wondered how the surgery had gone for C and X but I did not want to call and bother you since I figured you were busy enough. It broke my heart to hear X had a hard time coming out of the anesthesia. I am glad that they found some comfort in the blankets I made them. It sounds as if the best medicine and comfort was MOM and DAD. I hope the recovery is quick and easy for all. Take care and give my love to the little ones. Oh and thanks again for having me last weekend. As I told a friend here I had such a nice short vacation but it was not nearly long enough.

  2. Stephanee Says:

    I’m glad they are both OKay and everything went well for them! I can feel the kids pain, I’ve been in glasses or contacts for years and years and years. Since third grade really. My vision is really horrible. I cannot see ANYTHING without them. I cannot make out shapes, or noses, eyes on people, it’s just all one big beige, black ot tan blur. If it wasn’t so darn expensive I’d have eye surgery to correct my vision, even if it was to correct it a bit. I remember going to the eye Dr when I was about 18 and doing all the test before seeing the actual Dr, all of it routine by now lol. Then she takes me in to see the Dr and leaves me. I’m sitting there and the Dr and the intern are right outside the door and they are talking about me. The intern couldn’t believe how bad my vision was, she was basically telling him I was going blind, I couldn’t even read the chart without my glasses. Well DUHHHH that’s why I wear them you twonk, so I cannnn see. Anyways the Dr came to my defense and said some people do in fact have bad eyesight like myself, and require a very strong prescription. I can still see the interns face when she asked me to take my glasses off and read the eye chart and I looked at her like she was crazy. I told her I couldn’t read it, and she asked me to get closer until I could read it, and well my nose was almost touching the darn eyechart. Her eyes almost came out of their sockets hehe. I’m just thankful I can still see, and after all these years I haven’t gone totally blind just yet.

    I hope the baby’s op is just as smooth. Both Josh and Travis had the tubes when they were younger, and they seemed to come round very quickly. I’ll keep you guys in my thoughts.

    stephanee


Leave a Reply

