Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Spring Break March 22, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — woocrew @ 3:57 pm

This past week has been spring break for us here in Woo-ville.  We have had a pretty fun time and enjoyed being out and about for much of it.  Thanks to our awesome minivan, we’re able to get up, go and even take friends along for the ride. 

Monday morning around 10 am there was a knock at the door and it was Brooke.  She is X’s best friend.  They had the same teacher last year in first grade and have been best buds ever since.  It is not rare to find her at our house most of the time so I knew whatever fun was planned over the break I would be including her in also.  I was hoping to have Monday to laze around the house, but by 11 a.m. the kids were so noisy and rowdy that I packed them in and took them to McD’s for lunch.  They played in the playland for hours before we headed off to Wal-mart for a few essentials.  By the end of the day it became apparent that I’d be better off if I had something planned for the kids each day.  I was planning on taking them swimming at the natatorium and then cancelled that plan but it was on again knowing that I’d go crazy otherwise. 

Tuesday was a terribly stormy day.  There were flash floods around the metroplex but we live far enough out that we just experienced lots of rain.  I called Cherryl the night before and invited her to meet us at the natatorium.  We met around 1 p.m. and spent the afternoon indoors swimming.  We hadn’t been before but it was soooo  much fun.  There were lifevests provided which is great for my girls who don’t swim on their own yet.  They also have a fun waterslide and the pool is heated.  All pluses in my book.  It made for a really fun day, which would have otherwise been super crummy considering the nasty weather. 

Wednesday rolled around and my 2 oldest had eye doctor appointments.  The whole family, including Brooke, tagged along.  Much to our relief X and C will be undergoing eye surgery to realign their muscles in the next few months.  I am going to try and book the surgeries for May.  I say it’s a relief because fooling with them in glasses and going to the doctor every 3-4 months for the last 6 years has become exhausting.  X will more than likely get a correction that will leave him without glasses but Caitlin will still need them because of a stigmatism.  We’re praying lots that they get the maximum out of the surgery.  After the doctor we drove around the hospital area so the kids could see the helicopter.  It’s always fun to find simple things that amaze them.  We  headed over to Taco Bueno for a late lunch where X proceeded to fill himself with half a dozen tacos!  My the kid is growing!  He’s not such a little boy anymore, in fact he’ll be 8 this coming Wednesday.  I can hardly believe it!  After eating we stopped by walmart again to get a few things for a birthday cake i needed to make.  Ahhhhhhh….we finally made it home and settled in for the night.

Thursday morning we went to an easter egg hunt and lunch at a friends house.  There were lots of kids running around playing and eating candy.  It was a lot of fun.  Afterward we headed home and cleaned up a little.  Germaine had a friend over for supper that night and they sat and chatted for a while.  The kids were outside playing, as it had been a beautiful day, and I was baking cakes.

Friday was the birthday party day!  One of the kids in M’s nursery class at church had her birthday at the park.  I got to make the birthday cake which was really fun and yummy if I may say so.  Oddly enough I ran into an old friend at the party.  Come to find out that the birthday girls grandma is now the neighbor of my friend.  I haven’t seen her in probably about 2 years.  We email back and forth every now and then, but it was so good to see her face and hang around talking to her for the afternoon.  Her son and X were best buds when they were younger.  We met when the boys were about a year and half old.  Since we’ve moved from Denton we don’t get the chance to see each other as much.  They still mention each other from time to time…in fact it is her son who in an earlier post I told of X’s prayers for. 

Today is Saturday and we’ve already been busy.  One of the builders in our neighborhood had an easter ‘gathering’.  There was a bounce house, face painting and hot dogs, so we were there with bells on.  X had his face painted like a skeleton, M has a princess mask and C…well…she wanted to get her face painted white with black star over her eye like the guy from Kiss…I couldn’t talk her out of it, but I did manage to talk her into getting the star in pink.  She actually came out really cute that way, it’s her version of being a rock star…which is part of her plan for when she grows up…she wants to be a painter, a singer and a missionary!  Not bad for an almost 5 year old.  This evening there is a family game night at church and we plan on going.  It should be fun.  We try to attend all of the functions outside of regular sunday services being that Germaine can’t be there on Sundays.  It keeps him in the loop as much as possible. 

So that’s spring break, minus easter of course, but that’s tomorrow so being that I can’t predict the future, I have no story to tell yet.  We’ll be at church in the morning then to lunch at mom’s in the afternoon.  It should be lots of fun.  I’m actually excited.  We haven’t been to mom’s in quite some time and we’re all missing each other. 

Happy Easter to everyone!  We in Woo-ville hope the hopping easter bunny brings lots of treats your way, but most of all we hope you remember Christ.  Look around you, it is spring, as the earth begins to change and take on a new beauty it is evidence of this simple truth… God lives!

 

2 Responses to “Spring Break”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    I dont know if you will read this or not but good luck on the kids surgeries. I am glad everything will get corrected! Yeah! You will be in our prayers!

  2. Heidi Says:

    Sounds like you had a very fun active week. I think all employers should have spring breaks. I would really dig that let me tell ya! Because I would love to go swimming or to the play area at McD’s for an afternoon of fun. So jealous!!!

    I am so excited to come visit. Just can’t wait 😉

    Also I need a few tips on frosting a cake so it looks nice. I am making a spy glass birthday cake for a friends boy. She asked and I don’t mind but my frosting work never looks perfect the way I would like so I thought I would ask if you have any handy dandy tips since you always do such a nice job.

    Oh I have to head off to work and get out of this office where my dog just farted. Poof…Poof…silent but deadly and clearing the room out for sure. Love and talk to you later!!!


Leave a Reply

