Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Mischief all around us February 21, 2008

Filed under: Family — woocrew @ 10:04 pm

So, who might you think is to blame when we in Woo-ville tell tales of mischevious deeds?  Well here are a few tales that will make your head explode…I’m pretty sure you’ll laugh too.

Once a month I, go to a friends house to scrapbook.  I’m usually gone pretty late and this month was no different, until I got home.  Germaine had laid everyone down for bed, told the kids stories and tucked them in tight.  He was snoring hard by the time I got home, but the first thing I noticed was a light in the living room.  I walked in to find the tv on and M laying on the floor asleep, there’s this brown stuff all over the floor around her and I think to myself…hmmmm…I guess I’ll clean it up in the morning.  I notice a shadow moving around in the kitchen and walk in to find C sitting there with a cup full of Nesquik powder…she’s eating it dry out of the cup!!!  Ugh!!!  My girls love chocolate, but this is a little much.  I kindly, but with much frustration tell her that this is unacceptable and send her to her room.  M wakes up and runs off to bed too and I am left to vacuum chocolate powder out of my carpet at 11:30 p.m.  Trying not to lose my cool I go kiss them both goodnight and show C the baby pics of her that I had scrapped that night.  She loved seeing the pics and was super excited…secretly all I could think of was the chocolate that the vacuum didn’t suck up and what kind of mess it would be when I finally got the steamer out to clean the carpets. 

So now there’s today.  I have been a little under the weather and not sleeping very well at all.  I was super tired this morning but we had to hit the ground running.  I got X ready for school and on the bus by 6:50 a.m. and got the girls dressed in their sleep.  I carried them each half asleep into the van and off we went to the car dealer to have some cosmetic things fixed and an oil change.  The girls were really well behaved the whole time we were gone.  It was a cold, wet morning but we managed to make it home all in one piece.  Once we were home I was exhausted and thought I might try to find a way to take a nap.  Ha!  Joke’s on me!!!  I had the girls come watch cartoons in my room and invited them to cuddle up with me since we still hadn’t gotten the chill off of us from being out earlier.  The baby and I fell asleep…in fact it was a really good nap…until I woke up to the sound of running water.  I laid in bed for a while wondering if I really wanted to go and find out what had happened or just ignore it and pretend my beautiful girls would never cause troubles while I was napping…hehe…ugh!!!  I go into their bathroom and find the sink on so I go to turn it off and there’s sticky stuff all over the faucet handles and sink…hmmm…I smell my hands….HONEY!!!  We had all had peanut butter and honey sandwiches before laying down, C kept complaining that hers didn’t have enough honey but I just told her she needed to eat what she was given.  Seems she had another idea, dare I say a better idea.  She got the honey herself.  There was a salad plate sized glob of honey right smack in the middle of my living room floor, C and M are covered in the sticky goo and of course, Aspen, the dog has had her fair share of fun with it too.  They’ve strung little bits of honey through the living room and to be quite honest I just stood there wondering how in the world I would get it cleaned up.  The girls were sent to their bathroom for a bath but before I made it in to turn on the water the dog peed on the bathroom floor and I found that M peed on my bathroom floor too……………………AHHHHHHHHH!!!!  What is going on?  I didn’t think my nap would be worthy of such harsh punishment but leave it to my girls to find something icky to get into and of course if it’s edible our dog is up for it too. 

These are definetely the moments when I have to step back and make a conscious effort to remember all of the wonderful things about my girls.  They are beautiful and funny, uninhibited, carefree, smart, witty, loyal and when they tell me they love me time stops and I feel like I’m the only thing in the world that matters, if for that brief second.  I wouldn’t change a thing about them.  In fact, truth be known, the carpet needed cleaned really badly.  I guess one could say they gave me a reason to procrastinate no longer.  Don’t kid yourself, there’s no way I’m thanking them. This is not quite the favor a mother is looking for from her kids…but it most definetely is a story worth passing along.

 

2 Responses to “Mischief all around us”

  1. Heidi Says:

    I can send you a little 6 month old cat that sounds as if he would fit in the mix of C, M, and Aspen quite well. You say the word and he can be on your door step to assist in creating havoc. Oh and he is free of charge as well. Such a bonus!!!!

  2. woocrew Says:

    me thinks…NO THANKS!!! 😉


Leave a Reply

