Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Brrrrr….. October 23, 2007

Filed under: Family,Kids — woocrew @ 12:06 am

We here in Woo-ville are trying to keep warm.  Cold weather blew in last night and we’ve held tight to our blankets ever since.  X and I went shopping today for clothes being that all of his pants from last year have holes in the knees.  He is rough on his pants.  This time we went to Sears, they offer a wear out guarantee on their kids clothes.  If he wears them out before he outgrows them I can exchange them for the same item new from the store.  Winner to me.  He also got a haircut today, the best yet he has said.  This hairdresser was able to do what he wanted the last one to do but she didn’t get it quite right.  Needless to say, but I will anyway, he looks very handsome.  He has grown up so much lately, he’s hardly a little boy anymore. 

The girls got to spend the night at Abuela’s since I had a special day planned for X and I.  They had loads of fun, as they always do.  We’ve been able to spend at least one day a week visiting there.  It’s been nice to spend time with Grandma.  C and I quit our preschool co-op.  Our week is bogged down a lot with “have to do’s”, so I asked if she wanted to stay home with M and I or go to school and she thought she’d like to stay home.  She hasn’t regretted the decision.  She and M are best friends.  They spend their whole day playing together.  I hope that the baby will one day fit into their world of play too.  Speaking of baby, my has she grown!  I can’t believe she turned 3 months old the 6th of this month.  Sure doesn’t seem like long ago that she was born.  She is rolling onto her side from her back now and accidentally rolled completely onto her tummy once.  I say accidentally because she had one arm caught underneath her and she lay there crying not quite sure of what had happened or how to get back to a comfy position.  She is still sucking her thumb, and we still think it’s cute!  I invested in a sweater and some long sleeved outfits for her today.  I hand clothes down from the girls but what I have in her size is summer clothes from the others being born in spring.  It’s fun to get to shop for a baby clothes. 

Germaine is working in a new area with new off days.  He is really enjoying being in the CMF, central monitoring facility.  Everything there is monitored by computer, no heavy lifting, and good people to work with.  The only set back is that he is off Friday and Saturday now.  No more Sundays at church as a family.  Believe it or not we don’t have a new vehicle yet, so I am not able to take the kids to church either yet.  We plan on being able to buy a new minivan next month.  It should be very exciting to have a new vehicle and even more exciting to be able to take the family out in one vehicle instead of 2! 

Grandma had a go round with bronchitis which left her pretty worn out for a good while.  She’s back to herself though, complaining about all of the dogs and offering to move herself out to the barn after yet another pet adoption this weekend.  Mom and Cherryl have rescued a golden retreiver.  They have named him Andy.  He was found in the creek behind someone’s home.  The people who found him saw a man drop him off at the creek and when the dog followed him back to the car he shut the door behind him and left the dog there.  Jerk!  They took down his license # and plan on reporting the incident to the police.  Good for them I say. 

I’m sure we’ll have some fab halloween pics next week.  I just realized last night that we have trunk or treat this Saturday and I haven’t made the girls their costumes yet.  I guess we all know what I’ll be doing in my spare moments this week.  I have a fabulous idea in my head, I just hope my hands and my sewing machine are able to translate it well.  X plans on being a vampire along with his best friend Brooke.  That’s easy being that he was a vampire year before last and a cape is hard to outgrow.  I must say though, they have a fall carnival day at school and they get to dress up, but they give the kids a theme.  This year it’s back in time.  Well, he’s going to be a sheriff.  Last year the theme was transportation so he went as Jeff Gordon, his favorite Nascar driver.  I hate the theme thing.  I could be practical and tell him he only gets one costume so whatever he has for school  he would have to wear on halloween, but I don’t see the fun in that.  So every year there are 2 costumes….C starts school next year…I’ll really be overloaded then.  Oh well….this is what having kiddos is all about and frankly I wouldn’t have it any other way. 

It’s a quiet night in Woo-ville, everyone’s tucked in tight.  I’d best go grab a blanket and turn in for the night.  😉

 

4 Responses to “Brrrrr…..”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    Well, it sounds like you guys had a pretty full weekend! I am so glad. I am so sorry I am the worst friend in the world and I suck. That was the shortest flippin trip. I am so sorry I failed to call.

    It did get cold though thats for sure. I w=packed shorts cuz I was like Im going to Fort Worth so it will be nice and warm. Hah! Jokes on me! I should have known. We had our first snow of the season this weekend. We walked into a freezer I swear!

    Let me know what you do for the girls this Halloween! I am sad that I decided not to be fun and creative this year. I guess I can live through you. (I pretty much do in that department anyway! 🙂 )

  2. Stephanee Says:

    Okay soooo how cold did it get??? Asks she sitting here freezing her cachongas off in the middle of the day.

    Post pics up of the kids in thier Halloween costumes!! I wish I had the talent to make Isabel’s costume. You are so mulit talented, I’m green with envy.

    thats a pretty great deal at Sears, esp. for boys. I would think they go through clothing a lot quicker than girls. I’m so cheap I buy most of Isabel’s things off Ebay. It saves me a lot of money, and she needs something new every time you turn around.

  3. woocrew Says:

    Hey now…I’m no wuss! It’s actually been in the 40’s at night and 60’s during the day. I know it’s not terribly cold…actually comfy for me. The kids however do get cold. I’ve never tried ebay for clothes. I don’t buy anything at full price anyway. I got a steal, the pants were only $12 a pair and shirts for $7. He’s older now so things are more expensive than for the girls. The girls however, ruin their clothes by staining them. That’s the difference with boys and girls…boys are rough on their clothes but dirt doesn’t show so much being that they’re usually darker colors…girls, mine at least, aren’t rough but some stains don’t wash out and on light colors it ruins the clothes. How cold is everyone else around the world. I am really enjoying the weather right now…no a/c, no heat, open windows sometimes and even a light jacket in morning and evening…perfect!

  4. Stephanee Says:

    Okay mama, where are the Halloween pics?


Leave a Reply

