Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Pets October 4, 2007

Filed under: Family — woocrew @ 9:41 pm

The girls and I spent the day out today running errands.  To be honest, we don’t leave the house often during the day.  Today was different though and we had lots of fun.  After a few “must do’s” we stopped at Petsmart to check out the dog section.  Little did I know we’d roam the whole store, but it was loads of fun nonetheless.  C and M both loved every single animal they saw, even the rodents.  Yuck!  I think I’m a giving mom, but no way are we going to have hamsters or other little furry things like that in our house.  Hmmm….on second thought, last time I took such a strong stand I ended up with a dog.  I’ll think it over I guess, but I still think they’re gross.  After buying some treats and toys for Aspen we trucked on over to Abuela’s house and hung out for a while. 

I’ve been thinking about how our dog has fit into our family a lot lately.  She really is like having another kid around.  It’s funny.  You know how your kids like to follow you into the bathroom and you wonder when their sense of smell is going to kick in, thinking to yourself this conversation certainly could have waited a few minutes.  Well you guessed it, Aspen follows me into the bathroom too.  It’s hilarious, she lays down on my feet in front of the toilet and catnaps, or dognaps, but not literally because dognapping doesn’t actually refer to dog’s napping…hmmm…go figure.  Anywho.  She lays there as if to say, I would converse with you like your 2 yr old does but all I have to offer is the warmth of my fur on your feet.  Grrrrrrrrrreat! 

On occassion X and C wake up at night and make their way to our bed.  Germaine is gone by 3 a.m. so there’s plenty of room, though I do prefer to be by myself.  This morning Aspen wakes me early to go outside then proceeds to my room.  I’m thinking she can just roam the house and lounge while we sleep a little more.  Nope.  She made her way to my bed too and found a litte spot between the kids.  X woke up giggling his head off.  As I lay there still trying to go back to sleep, after all there were about 10 more minutes till the alarm went off, I hear him whispering to her.  “Aspen, I love you!”  “You’re a sweet girl, I love you!”  Awwwwwww…I was giddy inside.  I love when my kids do super sweet things.  I like to think it’s their true spirit shining through.  If I would have known how wonderful it would be for our family to have this animal join us I would have done it long ago.  On second thought, it wouldn’t have been Aspen, so all in its time is perfection. 

 

3 Responses to “Pets”

  1. Stephanee Says:

    Isabel loves trucking around the pet store. We visti all the animals and she wants them all. I keep asking her what she wants for her birthday and she says a pony. I look out at my postage stamp size yard and think okay what else??

    What about a guinnea pig? Honestly they are so cute, and they make the cutest noises, and are far larger than rats. I don’t know if I could handle a gerbil or hamster, they just look too much like rats.

    Germaine leaves for work at 3AM??? Wow!! I really don’t think I could function at that time in the morning. I’ve only risen at that hour for a flight overseas and even then it was rough. Okay and of course when Isabel was younger, I was up all night every night.

    X is so cute! He says the cutest things. I always feel so special to have a child, it’s the greatest thing in the world.

  2. linzpyfer Says:

    AAWWW…that is the sweetest thing I have ever heard! What a nice thing.

    And on that note…Aspen must love you…I wouldnt go near that bathroom. I am glad you two have bonding time as well. How special! 🙂

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I just let Katy read these entries about Aspen and she is crying tears of joy. She is so comforted to know the love Aspen is receiving at your home and she thanks you for it.


Leave a Reply

