Woocrew’s Weblog

A spot about the Wooten’s and the happenings in their world.

Dog Sliding September 10, 2007

Filed under: Family — woocrew @ 8:51 pm

Yep, that’s right…dog sliding.  I’m not mistaken.  The woocrew have welcomed a new member into woo-ville.  The latest addition is an 18 month old yellow lab named Aspen.  She came to us through a friend whose parents decided to de-dog their home.  Mom and Grandma got the 110 lb collie, yep, you read right…110 lbs…and Grandma quickly staked her claim on him.  His name is Moroni.  He sleeps in her room, they nap together each day, he in his crate of course.  She has a companion and is tickled pink about it.  I’ll have to get a pic of them together and post it soon.  So back to our dog.  She’s absolutely fabulous.  We go out each night as a family to walk her.  It’s nice to get a dog who’s already house-broken, crate trained and understands a few commands.  Tonight we walked to the park.  She was very happy to have a huge space to run.  She and X played chase and then he went up the steps to the slide…she of course followed, tennis ball in mouth, looking around from the platform with a bit of wonder.  X made his way to the slide and she again followed, in fact right down the slide they both came.  Germaine was ready for the madness to stop the first time around…it made him very nervous.  She, of course, thought it was fabulous and followed him a half dozen more times, sometimes landing fine and other times landing with a nose dive and slide through the mulch on the ground.  It was so fun to watch.  She and X have become quick friends, in fact she has become part of our family from the minute we walked her through the front door.  The last of my story is simply this…a few weeks ago while visiting teaching, I was telling the ladies I was with about how crazy of an idea it would be to have a dog and it was certainly nothing I would do for at least 7 or 8 more years.  From my lips to Gods’ ears…this is how I know that our Father in Heaven has an awesome sense of humor.  Let’s be honest, 7, 4 and 2 yr olds and a 2 month old baby, does one really need anything else to do?  She just happened to be the kind of dog I would have were I looking to bring one home, and so she has found a new home with us.  It’s a happy place with enough kids to keep her busy and playing most of the day.  We love her, Aspen, our sliding dog.     

 

3 Responses to “Dog Sliding”

  1. Stephanee Says:

    Awww, I’m so jealous!! I want a dog, so does Isa. You should read Marley and Me, it’s great and it’ll make you laugh. It’s actually written about a Lab….on second thought maybe you shouldn’t read it for a few years. I love having pets around children, they brighten their lives so much. I know Isabel wants a whole farm. I asked her last night what she wanted for her birthday and she turned to her father and said I want a pony, just one, not two dad.:-)It’s either a pony or guinnea pig, or much to my distaste a rat. 😛 Wanna trade, rat for you lovely dog?? Kisses, Steph

  2. woocrew Says:

    Ha, ha! I hate rodents. In fact, I prefer snakes for the simple reason that they eat rodents. My mom has a farm…3 horses, 4 dogs, 2 cats and chickens. There are field mice too, but good luck catching one, she tries to keep them away. At night you can hear the coyotes howl. Once you guys have crossed the waters back this way we’ll have to take her over to visit the farm. Nothing like getting to fry the egg you just hunted for…at least this is true for my kiddos.

  3. Lindsay Says:

    I sent your blog over to my mom so she could read this. It made her VERY happy. She is so glad Aspen has a happy home and that she has made your home happy as well. I hope it was okay to share.


Leave a Reply

